,


Feng Shui Introduction

The name of the Traditional Chinese Science Feng Shui literally means “wind and water”. The name originates from the 4th century C.E. and is probably based on the notion that wind and water are direct expressions of the life force qi in nature.

IATCA® will present in these pages the most essential concepts and methods of Feng Shui and will continuously publish updates to them.

Feng Shui grew out of the necessity for man to find a kind of arrangement with nature in a settlement area that allows him to survive as long and as healthy as possible. Because all things directly or indirectly come from the earth or depend on its productivity (food respectively objects, living forms), Feng Shui is the Traditional Chinese Science of the soil and, in a more comprehensive sense, the Traditional Chinese Science of the habitat. The latter does not only consist of the soil, but also of vegetation, climate, and the seasons, as well as other known natural phenomena.

Further traditional terms for Feng Shui are “earth structure” (dili), “chariot with pavilion” (kanyu), or “terrestrial physiognomy”(dixiang).

In the course of history, Feng Shui has developed from a settlement technique to a highly stylized method of environmental engineering which unites geographical, climatic, architectural, and cosmic considerations.

Therefore, classical Feng Shui comprehends as well scientific as design and esthetical elements. One branch of Feng Shui is mainly concerned with the forms of landscapes and of objects and with their effects on man, and is called “School of Form-Force” (xingshi pai), while another one investigates the immaterial forces in nature and is known as “Compass School”, in Chinese professional terminology however the term “School of Structure-Qi” (liqi pai) is preferred.

All together, classical Feng Shui consists of very many different systems and theories, among them “Flying Stars” (feixing), “The Trigrams of the Mysterious Void” (xuankong dagua), or the “Eight Positionings” (bazhai) which complement each other, but also can contradict each other.

,


Feng Shui Einführung

Die traditionelle chinesische Wissenschaft Feng Shui bedeutet wörtlich übersetzt „Wind und Wasser.“ Der Name stammt aus dem 4. Jh. n. Chr. und beruht wahrscheinlich darauf, dass man den Wind und das Wasser für die direkten Ausformungen der Lebenskraft Qi in der Natur hielt.

IATCA® wird in diesen Seiten die wesentlichen Konzepte und Techniken des Feng Shui vorstellen und kontinuierlich Updates zu ihnen herausbringen.

Feng Shui entstand aus der Notwendigkeit heraus sich in einem Siedlungsraum mit der Natur so zu arrangieren, dass man darin möglichst lange und gesund überleben kann. Weil alle Dinge direkt oder indirekt aus der Erde kommen oder von ihrer Produktivität abhängen (Nahrung bzw. Gegenstände, belebte Formen) ist Feng Shui die traditionelle chinesische Wissenschaft des Erdbodens und in einem umfassenden Sinn die traditionelle chinesische Wissenschaft des Lebensraumes. Dieser besteht nicht aus dem Erdboden, sondern auch aus der Vegetation, dem Klima und den Jahreszeiten, und andere bekannte Erscheinungen der Natur.

Andere Begriffe für Feng Shui heißen „Erdstruktur“ (dili), „Wagen mit Pavillon“ (kanyu) oder „Erdphysiognomie“ (dixiang).

Im Laufe der Geschichte hat sich Feng Shui von einer Besiedlungstechnik zu einer hoch stilisierten Umgebungsgestaltung entwickelt, in denen sich geographische, klimatische, architektonische und kosmische Gegebenheiten miteinander theoretisch vermischen.

Das klassische Feng Shui umfasst daher sowohl naturwissenschaftliche als auch gestalterische und ästhetische Elemente. Ein Zweig des Feng Shui befasst sich vornehmlich mit Formen von Landschaften und Objekten und deren Wirkung auf den Menschen und wird „Formen-Kraft-Schule“ (xingshi pai) genannt, ein anderer untersucht die immateriellen kräfte in der Natur und ist bekannt als „Kompass-Schule“ heißt aber in der chinesischen Fachsprache „Struktur-Qi-Schule“ (liqi pai).

Das klassische Feng Shui besteht aber insgesamt aus sehr vielen unterschiedlichen Systemen und Theorien (wie „fliegende Sterne“ (feixing), „die Trigramme der mysteriösen Leere“ (xuankong dagua) oder die „acht Positionierungen“ (bazhai)), die sich gegenseitig ergänzen aber auch widersprechen können.